top of page
  • gamerguys83

Is “13 Reasons Why” Really That Bad?: S1 E3: “Tape 2, Side A”

Yes. Yes, it is.


Not gonna lie, this one was mostly just a slog to get through. The padding is at its worst by far, Clay Jensen still has very little to do outside of just listen to the tape, et cetera et cetera.


This episode’s main conceit involves Alex Standall and his involvement with Hannah’s suicide. And you know, after the previous episode, I thought he would be one of the few characters I actually kind of liked in this whole thing. But in comes this one to make me hate him.


As the episode shows, he was involved in making the list that stated Hannah had the best ass in the class, and he doesn’t show any kind of remorse for doing so. The scene where she calls him out on this is also the only moment where all the boys in the room are the most stereotypically douchey that they could possibly be, just as a side note. Way to take Alex’s decent behavior from the previous episode and toss it aside.


The end features Clay encountering a boy named Bryce, and I can’t remember the last time I wanted to punch a fictional character in the face, but hot damn, Bryce reinvigorated that feeling. He just screams douche with every word he says, and for a series trying to teach the subject of suicide as seriously as possible, Bryce’s existence alone hurts that. You don’t want cartoonishly exaggerated caricatures like that in this kind of story.


That’s really the core problem with the show. It tries to tackle this extremely serious subject matter and simplify it to a disgusting degree, and I hate it. As far as I’m concerned, this show has had its three strikes for me. I can’t even say it’s enjoyably bad on any level, it’s just a dull slog at best and insulting at worst. I’m usually all for indulging in bad media, but if even the pain level is too much for me to deal with, why should I bother?


I’ve really got nothing else to say. This show sucks and I donrnw

25 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page